The Show

Presented by House Enterprise, hosted by Jake Zimmer and Will Tondo. The name explains itself. We’ll be discussing craft beer, the latest business news, and what's going on in the world of sports. Join us for weekly conversations and interviews with industry leaders and guests around the nation.

Subscribe

   

Follow Us

           



If you’re a baseball person, you know Bobby V. But even if you don’t keep up with America’s pastime, there’s still a chance you know this week’s guest for a few reasons: as an ESPN analyst, a restaurant owner in southern Connecticut, or most notably,  a “master of disguise.”

We are honored to have Bobby Valentine on our show this week to reflect on a career with a plethora of accomplishments.  We recall Bobby’s days at USC - from rooming with future Red Sox first baseman Bill Buckner, to his time in the Sigma Chi Fraternity with 3-time Super Bowl Champion coach Mike Holmgren.  Bobby reminisces on nearly stealing home his Major League debut, playing a role in 3 of Nolan Ryan’s no-hitters, and his “catcher’s balk” disguise incident in 1999 as the manager of the New York Mets.  We break down Bobby’s opinions on the future of the game of baseball and the inevitable universal designated hitter rule.  We shift gears to chat with Bobby about his role as the Athletic Director at Sacred Heart University, the gaps he had to fill going from professional to collegiate athletics, and what’s to come for the SHU Pioneers in the near future.

BEERS:  Vermont is known for its skiing scene and scenic outdoor activities, but its craft beer market is one of the best in New England. Will tries Big Bang by Foley Brothers Brewing - an unfiltered single IPA with some of our favorite hops, he thinks this is one you should have on the list.  Jake goes back to his Connecticut roots and reviews a classic - Sea Hag by New England Brewing Company.  A staple at any gathering and a great contribution for a friend’s party, Sea Hag is one of the most crushable IPA’s in the region.

BUSINESS:  Texas suffers its worst nightmare: after basically freezing over, there are still millions without power, thousands in need of shelter, and hundreds dead.  Why wasn’t Texas prepared for a winter storm in the same way that the Northeast or Midwest would’ve been?  We break down some potential factors, and look into some stocks you might be able to take advantage of...if they can make it out of this mess alive.

BALLS:  San Diego Padres standout shortstop Fernando Tatis inks himself a HUGE deal for $340 million over 13 years. How does this change the game for young stars that will hit free agency in the first few years of the 2020’s?

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 2/23/2021


While the Super Bowl is over, we have more football content for you!  Jake Wallach, or “JWall” as his fans affectionately know him, won the Madden Club Championship on February 9th - he joins the show to relive his big victory.  JWall takes us through the process of qualifying for a competitive Madden tournament, his 14-6 win over one of the best Madden players in the nation, and his strategy to take him down.  We also discuss JWall’s love for the Detroit Lions, and Calvin Johnson’s recent Hall of Fame induction.

BEERS:  Brewery Ommegang: “where heaven met earth,” according to its website, isn’t really a far stretch.  Will reviews Neon Rainbows from the Cooperstown brewer, and his rating is probably worth you heading to Untappd.com to find out if you’re one of the 47 states that Ommegang distributes to.   Jake takes a trip down the Pawtuxet River to Apponaug Brewing Company in Warwick, RI.  To the naked eye, it’s a “come for the food, stay for the vibes, and drink some beer in the meantime” vibe...but is Apponaug actually a hidden gem in Rhode Island? Jake reviews “Lakerunner,” a West Coast pale ale that might have him coming back sooner than he thought.

BUSINESS:  With plenty of high tensions in the market over the past few weeks, it’s refreshing to hear about a trailblazing entrepreneur making moves.  Whitney Wolfe Herd is officially the youngest self-made female billionaire in history after she led Bumble to its IPO this past week; it’s already up around 5% in the first few days of trading. We break down Bumble’s attractive case to buy, and Whitney Wolfe Herd’s long journey to bringing her company public.

BALLS: Are you lost without football? We are. We reminisce on a game that shocked many, as Tom Brady collected his 7th Super Bowl ring.  What’s next for Brady? Who will the Buccaneers retain as the free agency rumors begin?  After demanding a release from the Houston Texans, where will JJ Watt look to play football in 2021?  We also break down the recent success of the New York Knicks, who currently enjoy a 6th-place marker in the Eastern Conference.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 2/17/2021


EPISODE 40

Super Bowl Sunday has finally arrived! It’s the Chiefs and the Bucs - can Tom Brady separate his legacy from the New England Patriots and win yet another title, or will it be Patrick Mahomes’ time to take over as the face of the NFL?  We bring in former NFL safety Quintin Demps to discuss his career, what he learned from Andy Reid, and what to expect this weekend.

BEERS

Is it IPA season again?  Will reviews “Totally Tubular” from Orono Brewing Company in Maine, and its tropical notes have us dreaming of warmer places...well, anywhere that doesn’t have a foot of snow on the ground. Jake reviews “Peeptoad” from nearby Tilted Barn Brewing, to which he makes a comparison to another Rhode Island staple.

BUSINESS

You’d have to be living under a rock to not be aware of what’s going on in the stock market these past few weeks, and who better than our friend Zaid Admani to discuss it!  In a relentless battle of “Bros vs. Suits,” the stock market endured a “short squeeze,” in which a group of Reddit users convinced many retail investors to pump up stocks in order to inflict massive losses on hedge funds who had “shorted” their share of these companies. GameStop, AMC, and BlackBerry had all benefited from the short squeeze - some users report gaining as much as 1700% on their positions.  We break down the events of last week and ponder if this could be the new norm. We also discuss the recent resignation of Jeff Bezos, and what it could mean for the future of Amazon.

BALLS

Quintin Demps grew from a city kid growing up in San Antonio with a single mother to a standout defensive back at UTEP.   He earned himself a 4th-round draft pick to the Eagles, was mentored by 9-time Pro-Bowler Brian Dawkins, and quickly found himself one win away from the 2009 Super Bowl...only to be walked off by a last-minute touchdown pass from Hall of Famer Kurt Warner.  Demps reminisces on his memories of the league, the lessons he learned from now-Chiefs head coach Andy Reid during his time in Philadelphia, and being carved apart by Tom Brady during the four times in his career they played each other.  We also discuss the mental and financial struggles with life after football, how to fix the Texans, what Deshaun Watson’s mentality should be going forward, and if Patrick Mahomes has a legitimate claim to the “Face of the NFL” title with a win.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 2/4/2021


The Bryant Bulldogs are taking the entire Division I basketball landscape by storm in 2021, so we thought it’d only be right to sit down with the architect of one of the best turnaround stories in the 21st century (starts at 19:31).   Jared Grasso knew he was a basketball guy from the minute he picked one up (22:16); the son of a coach, he went on to become a 4-year starter and 2-year captain at Quinnipiac (23:30), where he ranks 23rd on the Bobcats’ all-time scoring list.   Grasso talks with us about his tactics to build a championship at Iona (27:49), and going to the NCAA Tournament five times.  Grasso takes us through his decision to seek greener pastures at Bryant (33:09), his mentality of turning a 3-28 program into an NEC competitor, and purging recruits from powerhouse programs like Rutgers.  We play “Break Down the Quote,” as Coach breaks down his three favorite phrases…or “Grasso-ism’s,” some may say (47:49).  We also discuss the game Grasso scored 30 points against Ben Gordon (25:40), the best places to eat on Long Island, and his close relationship with CBS Sports insider Jon Rothstein (and his machine-like eating habits - 49:44). BEERS Will tries a new selection from Moniker Brewery, a new establishment on Fountain Street in Providence, Rhode Island.  Jeff Goodno and Bryan Benedict, the two founders, enjoyed success at Beer’d Brewing Company in Connecticut, and are now off-and-running on their new venture in Providence.  Jake reviews Spectrum by New Park Brewing - a brew that gets some pretty high praise in a crowded Connecticut beer market. BUSINESS Gamestop - that place you used to go when you were 8 years old may have just made you rich!  Even though Gamestop is more than likely forecasted to lose money this year AND next year amid the closure of brick & mortar stores and the evolution of buying new video games, their stock soared more than 300% over the past week.  How did a group of Redditors inflate the stock price? What does it mean for day traders? BALLS We could not have even imagined both games in Championship Weekend to end the way they did.  The Super Bowl will be Tom Brady vs. Patrick Mahomes - a matchup that earned the Chiefs a 27-24 win over Tampa Bay in Week 12.   We recap both games and offer some thoughts before our Super Bowl breakdown next week. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 1/26/2021


When you think of the wine industry, you probably think of the rolling Tuscan hills, old money, and dressing to the nines for a fun Saturday fall afternoon with your friends. But it means far more to Sigma Chi alumnus Brandon Chaney, who left his career to pursue winemaking full-time. The proprietor and founder of Fairwinds Estates Winery in Napa Valley, Brandon is an accomplished tech entrepreneur who left his job to chase his passion for making (and drinking) great wines. As Brandon tells us, it certainly has not been all sunshines and rainbows - Fairwinds lost most of their property to the lethal Glass Fires in October 2020.  How did the experience change Brandon's outlook on his passion, and how are they rebuilding? We unpack a lot in our "Business" segment with Brandon Chaney this week, and we're excited to share his story with you.

BEERS: Craft beer without the hangover? Sign us up. For years, the non-alcoholic beer industry has remained stagnant - no one is reaching for the O'Douls, St. Pauli Girl, or Beck's anymore. Athletic Brewing Company is on a mission to redefine craft beer by providing an easy-to-drink craft beer without the health risks & the unavoidable hangover. We certainly love our craft beer, but we enjoyed giving Athletic Brewing a shot. Head over to athleticbrewing.com to check out their products today.

BALLS: We give some rapid-fire predictions for the 2 games in the upcoming NFL Championship Series, and digest all that's been going on in the baseball world.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 1/21/2021


Our first show of 2021 kicks off with a bang!  Bryan Hoch, longtime New York Yankees beat writer on MLB.com, joins the guys for our first episode since December 22 (interview starts 16:46). Bryan has a decorated career in sports journalism, particularly in baseball - from his humble beginnings starting a Mets blog in high school, to covering the most storied franchise in sports, Bryan shares memories & highlights from an extremely rewarding career. We discuss his favorite Yankees to cover, the pure shock of watching his team win the 2009 World Series, and the eerily methodical pregame routine of Hall of Fame shortstop Derek Jeter.  Bryan recalls his base hit off former pitcher Jeff Nelson, his favorite Topps baseball cards he’s pulled over the years, his favorite Ron Burgundy quotes, and gives his bourbon of choice. BEERS: Massachusetts, we’re back!  Will reviews Cloud Candy by Mighty Squirrel - he’s all-in on the Boston-area favorite.  Jake tries Secret Batch #292 (not so secret anymore) from True North Brewing Company, another staple of the Massachusetts craft beer scene. BUSINESS:  Twitter is still facing fallout from banning President Trump from the platform after the storming of Capitol Hill last week. Shares have declined more than 12% since banning the President; Wall Street analysts are estimating massive financial risk for Twitter due to Trump supporters no longer engaging with the platform, and sparking conversations on social media censorship. That, analysts say, will become less appealing for advertisers to set up shop on Twitter. Should we expect more of this from other Big Tech firms, and what are the possible implications if you’re a shareholder? BALLS: We break down our biggest surprises from the NFL Wild Card Weekend, and give some rapid-fire predictions for the 4 games in the upcoming Divisional Round. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 1/13/2021


If the names Dooley, Fringe Guy, Jimmy Heaters, or the Rally King mean anything to you, then buckle up. Although it started as a meme page on Instagram, Friday Beers has become more of a rallying cry for the 9-5 corporate worker - wherever you are in the world, and whatever time it is, the feeling of a Friday Beer just "hits different."  In Episode 36, Jake & Will sit down with Jack and Max Barrett (starts 3:44), the masters behind one of social media's fastest-growing brands.  We discuss their rise to Instagram & Twitter royalty (10:15), their inspiration behind "The Squad” (12:48), and their endeavor into the craft beer scene (28:13).  We trigger some nostalgic - but painful - memories of their breakup with Dua Lipa (17:23), and their subsequent partnership with their new sole followed account...Hailee Steinfeld. NOTE: Please help Friday Beers give back to NYC restaurant workers by visiting ROAR NY at https://www.roarnewyork.org/. This is a phenomenal opportunity to give to someone in need this holiday season. If you can contribute, please do - any amount makes a difference! Rapid fire this week from our portion of the show: BEERS (51:50): We review selections from Long Live Beerworks (our favorite), and Loophole Brewing Company, a new selection you can more than likely find in a New England liquor store. Will has also made NO progress in his quest to 1K check-ins on Untappd...can he drink 33 new beers in 9 days?! BUSINESS (54:58): The vaccine and stimulus package approvals promised solid gains, but they were quickly thwarted by news of a new COVID-19 strain...only to rise again near market close. How long will this continue? BALLS (58:34): "DA GOD DAM JETS" won a game! What does this mean for the future of the franchise? We also select our Week 15 teams for Contenders & Pretenders (60:37). POSITIVITY CORNER (66:28): Dr. Anthony Fauci says he went to vaccinate Santa Claus a few weeks ago - should be you concerned of the Big Man climbing down your chimney this Christmas? --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/22/2020


Can’t get enough Bryant Bulldogs breaking barriers and re-inventing entire industries?  Nick Cianfaglione joins us this week to discuss his founding of Artist Republik, a platform for independent artists & musicians.  We discuss his method of tearing down barriers for creators to monetize and market their products, and the ordeal that artists usually encounter with their “managers.” How can an independent musician monetize their work without coughing up a large chunk of their earnings to their managers’ pockets? What’s the best way to distribute songs on a low budget?  Nick gives us answers that every artist should be dying to know.  We also discuss how he built a duct-tape wallet empire in his middle school days, and his desperate plea to the creators of Fortnite.

BEERS: Tree. ******. House. We brought back a haul from the “Brewery on the Hill” in Charlton this past weekend, and it certainly did not disappoint. Jake reviews “Juice Project” with Citra and Mosaic hops; his rating will leave your jaw on the floor.  Meanwhile, in his quest to break 1,000 beers before 2021, Will reviews the Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Peppermint Porter by Lexington Brewing Company. He’s got 37 left to go in just 14 days – can he do it?

BUSINESS: As we mentioned last week, AirBnB was one of the most highly anticipated IPO’s of our time. We expected the stock to rise after officially being listed on the markets last week, but how did they pull off more than a 100% increase in less than 2 days?  The guys evaluate if AirBnB could be one of the stocks you wished you bought 5 years from now.

BALLS:  Both the Giants and the Patriots suffered tough losses against powerhouse opponents this week, and – although we don’t want to – we break down what went wrong for the increasingly-less-likely playoff hopefuls.  Contenders and Pretenders reprises itself for another week – who is legit, and who is just here for the ride? Our choices might surprise you.

POSITIVITY CORNER: If you are in the giving spirit, please consider writing a letter to the family of Keyontae Johnson, who remains in critical condition after collapsing on the court on Saturday.  Send a message of hope & goodwill to PO BOX 14485, Gainsville FL 32604.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/15/2020


BEERS: We are beyond excited for you to get to know our newest beer reviewer, Kris Savage! Kris tells us the story of how she created Basic Girl Brew Review on Instagram with her best friend.  Kris and the guys try a few of our favorite local selections (hint hint, Tree House may be included) live on the show, and debate whether or not the Midwest craft scene can stack up against the formidable New England titans of industry.

Big shoutout to our friends at Long Live Beerworks, too - they launched their new renditions of Frozie Cup and Jenny Graham, both available at their Providence location.

BUSINESS: It’s day trading heaven!...or is it?  AirBnB is expected to list itself on the New York Stock Exchange this Thursday, and all eyes are on the app that changed tourism forever.  After changing its expected sell price multiple times, it appears CEO Brian Chesky has come to an agreement with the SEC and investment banks that they’ll hit the exchange at $60 - up from $44, $50, and $56.  What’s in store for AirBnb? Should you buy it as soon as it hits the market, or wait for it to settle?

BALLS: Contenders and Pretenders, Week 13 edition!  Who disappointed in Week 13, and who solidified themselves as contenders? After another weird week of football and plenty of upsets (shoutout Giants, Pats, and Washington), our teams in the top tier may surprise you.  We also discuss the blockbuster Westbrook/Wall trade, and what it means for the futures of the two highly-touted (and overpaid) point guards.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/8/2020


He’s beer royalty!  If you are a craft beer drinker like us, you know how important the Untappd app is. Join the guys and The Boston Beer Guy as we sit down with the Untappd founder, Greg Avola, who takes us through his journey of creating the most popular beer app in America.  We discuss his passion for computer science & coding, his corporate experience at KPMG & Morgan Stanley, and his leap of faith into the world of entrepreneurship.  Greg also highlights some of the key new initiatives & features we should be looking to see from Untappd, and makes a plug for some of the best beers in New England.

Our conversation with Greg should get your fill of Beers AND Business this week (we also talk a bit of sports too!), but we close with a recap of Tyson-Jones Jr. on Triller this past weekend, and some football surprises.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/1/2020


He’s beer royalty!  If you are a craft beer drinker like us, you know how important the Untappd app is. Join the guys and The Boston Beer Guy as we sit down with the Untappd founder, Greg Avola, who takes us through his journey of creating the most popular beer app in America.  We discuss his passion for computer science & coding, his corporate experience at KPMG & Morgan Stanley, and his leap of faith into the world of entrepreneurship.  Greg also highlights some of the key new initiatives & features we should be looking to see from Untappd, and makes a plug for some of the best beers in New England. Our conversation with Greg should get your fill of Beers AND Business this week (we also talk a bit of sports too!), but we close with a recap of Tyson-Jones Jr. on Triller this past weekend, and some football surprises. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/1/2020


It’s officially college basketball season - so who better than Kevin McNamara to talk shop with us this week! All things considered, there’s nothing Kevin hasn’t covered in the college basketball world. A 30-year veteran of the Providence Journal before his departure this summer, Kevin has reported the beat for both the Providence Friars and the Rhode Island Rams, broke some of the nation’s biggest college basketball headlines, and sat on press row at the most renowned sports venues in America. Kevin chats with us about his rise to gaining national impressions, some characters he met along the way, and some storylines to look out for in this year’s campaign for the Friars & the BIG EAST.

BEERS: Is there really any bad time for a stout or a sour? This week, you get both! Will cracks open a golden stout courtesy of our friends at North Fork Brewing, while Jake recaps Electric Plankton by FAB, one of the newer brands in Massachusetts.

BUSINESS: Congratulations are in order if you were an owner of anything “new tech” last week! But the real winner goes to Disney, who is seeing all-time highs once again. With more than $2.4 billion in lost revenue from park visitors, how is Disney growing so much? We break down the wild success of its streaming platform and how it’s contributing to the rising Disney stock price.

BALLS: The Ravens SUCK! We said it! After losing in overtime to the Tennessee Titans, is Baltimore on a fast track to hell with a Turkey Day matchup against the Steelers? We also officially declare the New England Patriots as a “Bad Team” (can we trademark that?) and prepare their eulogy.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 11/24/2020


Another live on-site interview for you this week! Nichole Pelletier, founder and owner of Crooked Current Brewery joins the show from her venue in Pawtucket, Rhode Island.  In one of the more detailed and insightful conversations we've had on the show to date, Nichole lays out her long journey from a criminal justice student to the owner & operator of one of Lil' Rhody's most up-and-coming beer brands.  We discuss her strategy of "keeping the circle close" by not distributing Crooked Current beer, the potential challenges ahead, and the significance of being one of the only female head brewers in the state. We also taste & rate three beers, straight from the source - Pumpkin Maple Ale, Mexican Hot Chocolate, and Mango SMASH IPA. You should stop what you're doing and rate all 3.

BUSINESS: In a surprise move on Monday, Tesla announced it will list itself on the S&P 500 beginning on December 21. What does this mean for the stock, and when should you buy it?

BALLS: Kim Ng, a seasoned baseball executive, becomes the first female general manager in her new role with the Miami Marlins - a long overdue move for the sports world.  In the basketball scene, we break down the move of Chris Paul to the Phoenix Suns, and discuss drawbacks of a potential James Harden trade to the Brooklyn Nets.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 11/17/2020


Brett Johnson is this week’s guest – because is just one interview with the owner of an expansion franchise really enough?! Brett, who is a Rhode Islander through-and-through, is the founder of USL Rhode Island, which will be the Ocean State’s second professional team when it starts competing in Pawtucket in 2023. We discuss Brett’s undergraduate days at Brown University, his impressive business career, and the future of soccer in both the USA and abroad. BEERS: Jake and Will recap a weekend full of beers in Killington, Vermont. The guys break down some selections from the more well-known breweries in the Green Mountain State…Zero Gravity, and Lawson’s Finest Liquids (and no, it’s not Sip of Sunshine again). Will reviews 40 Thieves – which has some of the most impressive can art you’ll ever see – and Jake tries Super Session #2 with Amarillo hops. BUSINESS: With news of Joe Biden being appointed President-Elect, and with COVID-19 vaccine trials reporting over 90% confidence, analysts showed a great deal of confidence in virtually every sector. Tech, energy, tourism, you name it – lots of green on the board to start the week. How long does it last? Is it too late to hop in, or should you consider investing some extra cash (maybe from a hypothetical stimulus payment)? We also discuss Pfizer’s recent announcements and how they’ll affect their competitors. BALLS: Contenders and Pretenders are back! Learn why the Bills proved Jake wrong, and why the Packers notched some redemption in Will’s eyes. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 11/10/2020


You are in for a TREAT with our guest this week. Episode 29 features Jessica Kleinschmidt (40:50) who many of you know for her baseball coverage for NBC Sports (please get away if you are one of her Twitter simps). We discuss her new podcasts; “Balk Talk,” featuring exclusive interviews with MLB stars, and “Cork’d Up” with MLB agent Rachel Luba. We reminisce on her path to where she is now, dating all the way back to her first Oakland A’s game. We break down the crazy ending to the 2020 MLB season, her most memorable experiences covering baseball, and the advice she has for every woman who wants to work in sports. Our good friend Bennett Allen joins us for our segment of the show! BEERS: Will highlights his experiences with Ravenous Brewing Company in Cumberland, Rhode Island this past weekend. Located right off I-295 in an open-air warehouse, is Ravenous worth the stop? Jake reviews “Ghost” by Skyroc Brewery after a visit to Attleboro, Massachusetts this past weekend. With a cool physical location and an interesting story, Skyroc seems to be on the list of places to try for every New Englander - so we gave it a shot. Our special guest Ben takes a crack at The Craft: Rhode Island special from Foolproof - too much pineapple or not enough? BUSINESS: Two big acquisitions this week: Inspire Brands picking up Dunkin’ Donuts in an all-debt deal worth $11.3 billion (!!), and Business Insider buying Morning Brew for $75m, all in cash. We discuss why these two buyouts will benefit those groups, and what to expect going forward for the brands we affectionately call Dunks and The Brew. BALLS: Contenders and Pretenders, Volume 2! Who disappointed in Week 8, and who solidified themselves as contenders? We break down who remains on the Trust Tree after a weird week of football. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 11/2/2020


This week, we are talking business with two young entrepreneurs. Corey Nobile and Nick Oliveri started Impact Snacks to make “everyday snacking sustainable,” but how did they launch a popular brand? We discuss their founding story, their Kickstarter campaign, and their journey of launching a delicious plant-based “superfood snack” with sustainable and environmentally-friendly packaging. BEERS: Back to Long Live Beerworks we go! Jake reviews “Rude Boy Rude Girl,” which is the latest Long Live creation. Hazy, juicy, and fruity, Jake has nothing but high praises for this IPA. Will dives into Connecticut Valley Brewing Company’s new rollout of fruit beers - are they seltzers or ales? We may never know. BUSINESS: Holy down! With virtually no positive news coming this week, the S&P had one of its worst days in recent history, with nearly every stock following its lead. Is it too early to liquidate, or should you get out now while you can? BALLS: Against all odds, the MLB is approaching the finish line of its abbreviated season. Can the Dodgers finish it out in 6 games, or will the Rays live to see another day? Will Rays rookie Randy Arozarena distance himself from other MLB legends in the single-postseason home run record race? We also break down the NFL Week 7 results, and declare our “Contenders and Pretenders.” --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 10/27/2020


The Pirates are back! This week, we are live at the inaugural Providence Pirates combine. We sit down with 3 members of the front office staff - Vic Kash (Marketing), Serçan Fenerci (Founder), and Shaun Lavoie (Broadcast/Marketing). We discuss the process of founding an expansion franchise, evaluating the talent on the court, and what we should expect next from the Pirates. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 10/20/2020


Baseball, SPACtober, and Le’Veon Bell. What more could you ask for? We bring in Alex Feuz of A Whole New Ballgame to break down the baseball postseason so far, and what to expect going forward. BEERS: Pumpkin, pumpkin, and more pumpkin! Will tries Jack-O from Sam Adams for the first time, and gives it high praises. Jake took another stab at Bad Sons Beer in Connecticut, and rates their newest IPA release, Mischief. BUSINESS: SPACtober is here! Have you heard of a special purpose acquisition company? If not, you may be doing yourself a disservice. We break down which SPACs you should be considering adding to your portfolio, especially with some upcoming mergers this week. Forum Merger II ($FMCI) is our Stock of the Week - come listen why. BALLS: Tondo’s prophecy is fulfilled - the Lakers have defeated the Heat in 6 games. What do both teams need to do in the offseason to stay at the elite level they’re at? Will & Jake take their stabs at two controversial topics: LeBron’s best teammate ever, and the best player in the NBA to never win a ring. We also break down Le’Veon Bell’s abrupt release from the New York “Football” Jets (is that title giving them too much credit?), and where he could end up. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 10/14/2020


If you loved Vine, you’ll love this week’s guest! Our friend Eric Dunn joins the show to talk Jags football and make some predictions for the NFL’s Week 5 slate. Eric is now the host of Jags@Home, the weekly watch party for Jaguars games, and the host of Dunn & Drew, available on Spotify and Apple Podcasts. Between his modeling and voiceover endeavors, Eric Dunn has really done it all. BEERS: We are shouting out two selections from Chomp Kitchen and Drinks, which is a candidate for our new favorite place in Providence. A+ fried chicken and an elite beer list? Sign me up. Two Massachusetts beers from Chomp are on tap this week - Will tries a DIPA from Widowmaker Brewing Company in Braintree, while Jake reviews an IPA from True North in Ipswich. BUSINESS: What on earth is going on with Bed, Bath & Beyond? They’re up 50% over the last month, and rose 40% last week alone after reporting their highest in-store sales since 2016. Seriously?! We discuss what made their sales grow while their competitors suffered miserably. BALLS: Our MLB playoff bracket is busted, but that certainly doesn’t mean we’re not excited for the Division Series this week. We break down each matchup and discuss how each team stacks up for the second round. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 10/6/2020


If you’re a Rhode Islander, you know and love restaurants like Thirsty Beaver, Hucks Filling Station, and Pink Pig. This week, we sit down with Ed Brady, the mastermind behind your favorite local dining experiences. Ed talks with us about his journey to becoming a restaurant entrepreneur; from his upbringing as a caddy to help pay the family’s bills, to his attempt to become an actor in Los Angeles. Ed gives great advice for every aspiring entrepreneur that wants to leave a legacy behind. BEERS: Will finally reviews one of 3 beers he gave a perfect score on Untappd - Pumpkin Maple Ale by Crooked Current (RI). As only Will can say…it’s like tasting a pumpkin pie with a spoonful of maple syrup. Jake breaks down Streamside by Drowned Lands (NY), a “Brett IPA” brewed using an uncommon yeast strain that gives an IPA a wildly fruity, farmhouse-like tang. BUSINESS: Get ready for Echo’s galore! Amazon announces Prime Day will be October 13-14th; they had to push it back a few times because they were doing TOO well (unlike many businesses), and couldn’t handle further demand. They’re on pace to CRUSH the $280.5 billion in sales they did last year. So, will high demand impact your ability to take advantage of some sweet deals on Prime Day? We also declare Pfizer (NYSE: PFE) as the Stock of the Week after POTUS name-drops them in his Tuesday night debate. BALLS: Baseball’s “October Madness” playoff schedule is in full swing with the Wild Card series getting underway on Tuesday. Who makes it out alive? We give a full breakdown of the MLB bracket and make predictions on who we think will raise the trophy at Globe Life Field this year. We also take a stab at the winner of the NBA finals, recap the Tampa Bay Lightning’s Stanley Cup win, and review some NFL Week 3 results. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 9/30/2020


GUESS WHO’S BACK?! Our resident college basketball expert John Fanta is enshrined in the BBB Hall of Fame, as he becomes our first recurring guest...give the man a plaque, already. John & the guys dive into the 1-1 start to the year for the Cleveland Browns, the Grim Reaper’s visit to running backs & defensive linemen across the league, the Indians’ shot at the MLB playoffs, and the November 25th return of college basketball. BEERS: Is it too early for pumpkin? Will takes a stab at “Butternut the Hutt” by North Fork Brewing Company, brewed with spices and yams. Jake tries “Foggiest Window” by New England titan of beer Trillium Brewing on site from their lawn area near Fenway Park in Boston. BUSINESS: If you don’t like Tesla or TikTok coverage, you might wanna stay away from us for a bit. Tesla’s long-anticipated Battery Day will take place on 9/22 - buckle up for what’s sure to be a ride that has plenty of ups and downs. Also, TikTok seems to be in limbo with the US government and its private sector partners - while Oracle and Walmart seem to be in agreement to create a joint venture with TikTok’s parent company ByteDance, we really still have no idea what the distribution of responsibilities are between the 3 groups. Time will tell if the fate of TikTok can be saved. BALLS: Two words: injury bug. Saquon Barkley, Christian McCaffery, and Nick Bosa are just a few of the elite players on a LONG list of Week 2 injuries. We recap the Patriots-Seahawks primetime showdown (it certainly didn’t disappoint), and the Giants’ fall to 0-2 after their near-late-game comeback against the Bears. We also dive into the NBA Conference Finals, and make a few predictions for who we’d like to see in the championship...just two week’s time. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 9/22/2020


A craft beer movie? How awesome is that?! We’re joined by Dave Ricci, director of The Craft: Rhode Island, a movie detailing the hardworking entrepreneurs and brewers in the Ocean State. We talk about his upbringing in Lil’ Rhody, his path from a social studies teacher to moonlighting as a film director, and realistic paths that working professionals can undergo to start their own brewery. BEERS: “ICE COLD BEER HERE!” Two selections you can normally find at Yankee Stadium and Fenway Park (if they ever have fans again). We’ll give you a hint: Blue Point and Lord Hobo are the brewers. BUSINESS: Oracle wins the TikTok sweepstakes? Not so fast. We discuss the proposed partnership between the most viral app on the market and a titan of cloud computing, and its implications on American commerce & social media. We also talk DraftKings, which you should have your eyes on as a partnership with ESPN and the exploding popularity of sports betting may send DraftKings into all-time highs. BALLS: SPORTS! Football is back! We break down some findings from Week 1; diving into Cam Newton’s debut with the Pats, a confusing loss for the Giants, and some other big storylines in the NFL this year. We talk NBA playoffs, the Stanley Cup, and the Yankees’ little win streak after creating misery for all who watched them this past week. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 9/15/2020


Ever wonder what it’s like to build a franchise from the ground up? Sercan Fenerci, a known face in the New England basketball market, sits down with us this week to discuss his plan for building the Providence Pirates, an expansion franchise in the American Basketball Association (ABA). We talk about his experiences as a coach for the Turkish Basketball Federation, his idea to create a new program in Lil Rhody, and his 5-year plan for the future of the Providence Pirates. BEERS: Will just can’t stay away from Greenport Harbor Brewing Company – their new selection with blueberries and lemons will make you want to keep coming back, too. Jake buys into the hype of Mighty Squirrel in Waltham, Mass., and rates a New England up-and-comer in Cloud Candy. While the guys break down their beer reviews, they have a pumpkin ale brewing up in the background…it may or may not have overflowed on the stove. BUSINESS: Did we predict the future with Zoom (ZM)? Less than 24 hours after we declared it the Stock of the Week, it soared more than $130 after earnings were reported as expected. We’re hoping for similar luck this week with Workhorse (WKHS). An electric vehicle company, Workhorse isn’t necessarily gunning for Tesla’s revenue, as they’ve taken a little bit of a different approach to the EV market. Now, with a few big contracts at play, Workhorse may be primed to make a big run next week. BALLS: Rapid fire edition! Do the Miami Heat have a legitimate run at the title in them? Do the Yankees just pack it in for the rest of the season? And finally, the NFL starts up this week after a long, dreadful offseason without football – what are the Week 1 games you should have your eyes on? --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 9/8/2020


Happy deadline day, everyone! It’s the last day for MLB teams to make trades - so naturally, we brought on Jack Jokinen, who many of you know as “JJ,” talk all things Yankees during our “Balls” segment. Without dropping hints, Aaron Judge’s name comes up quite a bit! His interview starts at 16:50. BEERS: Will selects an orange/citrus flavored can from Greenport Harbor Brewing Company, and Jake gives you the lowdown in one of Tree House’s lesser known light beers. BUSINESS: Why did the S&P 500 and DOW do so well again this week? Chalk it up to the Big Tech stocks: ¼ of everything in the S&P 500 includes Apple, Amazon, Facebook, Google, and Microsoft. All of these have skyrocketed over the COVID-19 period due to strong usage numbers...and it ain’t going away anytime soon. The Stock of the Week, as such, is Zoom Video Communications (ZM on NASDAQ). They are expected to report earnings of a phenomenal Q2 this week, so there’s still some time to get in. BALLS: Join Jack Jokinen as Will & Jake break down some reasonable trades we should expect at the deadline. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 8/31/2020


If you’ve followed college basketball in any way, shape, or form, you’ll recognize our guest this week – Jeff Goodman of Stadium! Goodman worked his way up the ranks at CBS, FOX, and ESPN before his new venture as the College Basketball Insider & Expert for Stadium. We talk about his rise to fame, his time at ESPN covering the Ball family (yes, lots of LaVar talk), and potential outcomes for the upcoming NBA draft. Beers, Business, and Balls is brought to you by Dugout Creative, the newest entry into the concept merchandise market. For the best new baseball jerseys, shirts, and hats on the market, go to DugoutCreative.com and use the code BBBPOD for fifteen percent off your purchase. Dugout Creative has also started a new fundraiser for the MambaOnThree Fund, benefiting Kobe Bryant and his family. BEERS: Jake picks Smooth Beats Miami, a selection from New York’s finest craft brewery, Finback. A New England IPA with coconut, Jake has some strong opinions on where it stacks up in the IPA world. Will is gifted a selection from a Colorado staple, Pike’s Peak Brewing Company – how good can a New England IPA from the Midwest taste? BUSINESS: We’ve continued to see conflicting thoughts on travel and hospitality industries. Just one week after we declare Royal Caribbean the “Stock of the Week,” American Airlines cites that there is weak travel demand; experts say it will not rebound for years. What gives? We also break down the changes to the Dow Jones Industrial Average – are they making a play to try to weaken Apple? Also, ring the bells – cheers to the S&P 500, as they finally hit their all-time high, eclipsing $3,400. BALLS: “Playoff sports” are in full swing. LeBron & his “dream team” look to put Damian Lillard and a red-hot Blazers team to bed, Giannis wins Defensive Player of the Year, and 3 teams in the Eastern Conference have completed sweeps in their first round tilts. We discuss our predictions for the remainder of the NBA finals. Leo Messi has decided he’s packing his bags in Barcelona after a long career with the La Liga titan – what will it take for him to end up in America? We also talk Mike Trout’s rookie card selling for nearly $4 million, Earl Thomas getting released by the Baltimore Ravens after punching his teammate in the face, and the NHL’s remaining schedule. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 8/26/2020


NEW PARTNER ALERT! We’ve teamed up with Dugout Creative, the newest entry into the concept merchandise market. For the best new baseball jerseys, shirts, and hats on the market, go to DugoutCreative.com and use the code BBBPOD for 15% off your purchase. Matt Wilson of Under30CEO & Under30Experiences joins us this week to talk about life, travel, and making your own path! Matt is the author of The Millennial Travel Guidebook, available on Amazon now. If you want inspiration, folks…you’ve got it. BEERS: Beer on Earth is our selection this week, as both Will and Jake made a trip to review some craft beer on their makeshift patio in Providence. The consensus? You need to get it on your radar if you like IPA’s. BUSINESS: The S&P may close at an all-time high – it came very close last week after consumer data suggested that people have returned to spending at pre-COVID levels for the first time in 4-5 months. Economists do say that since unemployment benefits have run dry, it may be difficult to sustain. Will makes a valid point that we dive into a bit – is the market inflated with “fake money?” In the gaming world, Epic Game’s treasured child, Fortnite, has picked itself a war with Apple and Google, who Epic Games alleges is trying to “swoop in” on Fortnite’s profits. Now, Apple & Google find themselves on the hook with a massive lawsuit against them. Who will emerge successful?! For the stock of the week, we select a cruise line who claims they’ve generated “remarkable” demand for 2021. BALLS: The Yankees are cooking! They are 10-0 at home, and undefeated in the last 10 against the Red Sox. Is the treasured rivalry dead? In the hockey world, we already have some major surprises. Most notably, the New York Islanders are leading the series against the 2018 Stanley Cup champion Washington Capitals, and are looking for the sweep on Tuesday night. Could the Islanders be a legit threat? We also discuss Bruins’ goalie Tuuka Rask opting out of the season, citing “family concerns.” Normally, we wouldn’t bat an eye here…but after playing 5 games, it’s hard not to wonder if there were other factors – such as his performance – at play. In the NFL world, preseason training camps have officially kicked off! But there are two major points that the league has not really addressed yet – the frequent travel of teams from one coast to another, and the fact that FANS might be in the stadiums. Is this realistic? --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 8/18/2020


A must-listen episode! We are joined by Aimy Steadman, the co-founder of Beatbox Beverages, a staple at any party or social gathering (RIP to crowding together in a tight place!). Aimy talks with us about her journey to the United States as an immigrant from the Middle East, how she revolutionized the liquor industry, and convincing entertainment & lifestyle titan Mark Cuban to invest $1 million in her product on ABC’s Shark Tank. (Skip to 14:00 for Amy’s interview!) BEERS (4:05): Three words – Long. Live. Beerworks. Both Will and Jake take a crack at some of the newer brews from Long Live – Will reminisces on Here Comes The Wave from earlier this week, and Jake cracks open DDH Prissint live for the first time. BUSINESS (8:40): A quick dive into Apple’s success last week will have you wondering if you should’ve been invested a long time ago. Between an upcoming stock-split and record-high sales, Apple is something you should have on your radar. BALLS (53:36): Everyone loves gambling – especially on college football (seeing as it’s technically not allowed by the NCAA, it makes it that much more appealing!). Unfortunately, the growing sentiment is that we may not see a college football season at all this year. We discuss a few points that every athlete and administrator should be thinking about. Will players have more access to health & well-being resources at school rather than at home? Can they pull it off in a bubble-style format? What will Trevor Lawrence do, given his activism on Twitter? We also discuss some hockey – the New York Rangers have somehow defied all odds and landed the first-overall pick in the upcoming NHL Draft, essentially entitling them to Alexis Lafrenière, who some are calling the next Sidney Crosby. In baseball, there’s more hate to go around for the Houston Astros, who got into a scuffle with Ramon Laureano after some choice words were exchanged between him and the ‘Stros coaching staff. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 8/11/2020


Hard to believe we’ve done 16 episodes at this point! Thanks for listening. We sit down with Fred Segal, Twitter influencer and the founder of Freezing Cold Takes. We discuss how he created the idea, how he’s building and managing his now wildly-popular brand, and even dive into a rapid-fire take session towards the end. BEERS: Jake is coming for people’s neck after they’ve unfairly chirped him giving a good rating on Camp Wannamango from Harpoon! He dives in to what went into it and why it should be in your fridge. Will tries “It’s Complicated Being A Wizard” and rates it live...a sleeper candidate for a hazy NEIPA that should also be stocked in your fridge this summer. BUSINESS: We talked about TikTok last week, and its potential ban from American soil. Over the weekend, the White House officially called for its removal from the App Store in the USA, citing security risks & concerns of data sharing. Will this kill the careers of thousands of high school influencers? Spoiler...we say yes. We also name Microsoft the Stock of the Week for their interests in buying TikTok’s rights in the USA...you should keep your eyes on the computer typhoon. Also, we welcome back Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley from their SpaceX mission aboard the ISS, as they successfully landed in the Gulf of Mexico on Sunday. BALLS: A quick session on opt-outs before we head into the interview. Yoenis Céspedes of the Mets didn’t show up to his team’s game on Sunday, and then later decides he’s not playing for the rest of the year. Is this a bad look for him? In the NFL, the Patriots have now received 8 opt-outs from key players for the upcoming year. Despite landing Cam Newton to take over at Quarterback, can the Pats field a competitive team this year? --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 8/3/2020


Back again for your weekly dose of Beers, Business, and Balls! Lots to discuss this week about the downward trend of the market, return of sports, some quarantine violations. BEERS: Both of us are fresh-off some New England vacations, and naturally we had to get some craft beer for the fridge! Jake, who ventured to Cape Cod this weekend, picks a spicy beer from Bad Martha in East Falmouth and was pretty surprised by how well it held up…check our Instagram for the beer review! Will, coming straight down I-91 from Vermont, stopped in at Long Trail – a house favorite – and brought back Little Anomaly IPA. BUSINESS: The stock market, after having some of its best performances since COVID-19, slowed to a stop last week. We discuss the impacts of heightening political tensions between the US and China, and why the fact that two leaders cannot is being thrown out of whack. In Washington, Dr. Anthony Fauci makes an MLB first-pitch debut for the record books, and then follows it up with some less-than-desirable news about when the American people should expect a coronavirus vaccine. Our stock of the week may just have something to do with beer – Sam Adams fans will LOVE our selection. BALLS: Baseball! It’s back! (Disclaimer: we recorded this before 9 billion people on the Marlins got coronavirus) We digest a full weekend of Yankees baseball, and go over the good/bad/ugly from the Bronx Bombers 3-game set with the defending world champion Washington Nationals. Are Stanton and Judge the X-factors for the Yankees’ success? Time will only tell, but if they play anything like they did this weekend…look out. We also discuss Nelson Cruz’s resurgence from the dead, the god awful “pitching staff” that the Red Sox sent out this year, and some other potential storylines to keep your eyes on. We quickly check back in on the NBA bubble, and everyone is behaving nicely…but, there’s always one, right?! Lou Williams, touted sixth-man and Drake’s favorite name to drop in his songs, decided to “get dinner” at a strip club in Atlanta while away on bereavement leave. The best part? He didn’t even blow his cover…rapper Jack Harlow did! We discuss “What’s Poppin?” in Atlanta this past weekend and what Lou Will’s punishment should be. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 7/27/2020


Let’s go Inside the NBA Bubble! We catch up with Tim Sinclair, who is now serving as the Voice of the NBA Summer Games in Orlando, Florida. Tim is fresh off a 7-day room quarantine at the Coronado Springs Hotel on the Disney campus; he gives us an inside look of the isolation that staff & players are currently living in, and how they are keeping busy. BEERS: Will gives a beer a “3.75 to keep it alive” – he reviews “Lions, Tigers, and Bears” in honor of the fallen Barrage Brewing Company in New York. Jake discusses his experience with Oxbow Brewing Company’s “Luppolo,” a double dry-hopped pilsner that clashes many cultures…European malts, an Italian name, and American-brewed in Newcastle, Maine. BUSINESS: If you love it, you must let it go: the shocking reality of TikTok being banned on US networks is rapidly increasing. Could this be the end of the Renegade, The Git Up, and “Say So?” Charli Damelio fans certainly hope not. We discuss this week’s viral attack on Twitter’s most well-known accounts, in which hackers were able to post fraudulent links to fake Bitcoin buying sites from the pages of Elon Musk, Barack Obama, and more! In this week’s look at the market, we evaluate a volatile performance from Tesla and name an up-and-coming player in the COVID-19 vaccine our Stock of the Week. BALLS: It’s all Bubble Life today! We take you straight into the NBA Bubble with Tim Sinclair. We close with Positivity Corner; you’re going to want to hear the story of Bridger Walker and his brave attempt to save his sister’s life. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 7/20/2020


After 2 weeks on the injured list during tonsillectomy recovery...Will’s back! Send him your love in the reviews and Instagram DM’s. BEERS: We start off by reviewing 2 craft beer selections from Long Island...one from Greenport Harbor and the other from Shelter Island. Both are picks that you’ll want to try to grab when you’re on the North Fork. We also tell you about our upcoming home brews! BUSINESS: Is there seriously a crypto named after a meme?! We dive into the resurgence of Dogecoin - correct, that Doge - and what it could mean for the crypto world if it reaches $1. We discuss the big weeks for Peloton and Tesla, and how each stock might develop even further over the coming weeks. Also, keep your eyes on OCTF - our potential stock of the week. BALLS: Folks, we got our wish...sports are back! But...it’s not without its flaws. We discuss both the NBA’s return to the “bubble life,” the rising amount of COVID cases in baseball, and UFC’s “Fight Island” in the UAE. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 7/13/2020


Our friend John Fanta might be the biggest college basketball fan and personality in the entire nation! A Seton Hall graduate, John is currently a Digital Correspondent for the BIG EAST, and a Play-by-Play Announcer for college basketball on FOX Sports. We talk about his rise to fame in the college basketball universe, his favorite moments as a broadcaster, and of course, the best picks for a take-out meal in Northeast Ohio. Before the interview, we are joined by Fordham alumni Frank Perez (did Tondo lose a bet?) who breaks down some stocks to keep your eyes on after solid performances last week. We also react to the fresh news of Cam Newton heading to the New England Patriots...we discuss how he might fit in with the offense, and how the Patriots might’ve just finessed the system all over again. DISCLAIMER: Any financial recommendations are not necessarily reflective of our employers. Investors should always be cautious about any & all stock recommendations and should consider the source of any advice on stock selection. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 6/29/2020


BASEBALL IS BACK! Since Will’s voice isn’t up to par, Jake brings in a friend of the show - James Mas - to discuss the return of baseball. We talk about the proposed schedule, the rule changes that will be implemented, and finish with some bold predictions for the season. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 6/24/2020


Episode number one without Will Tondo, as he’s out on the 2-week IL for tonsil surgery recovery. Never fear though, we have a full episode dedicated to one-third of this show…Beer! Join us as we talk shop with Mike O’Toole from The Wort Podcast, and Ryan Densen, who many of you know as “The Boston Beer Guy.” We have more than ONE HOUR of A+ content on how they rose to fame, trends to keep your eyes on, and some takes on the best beers in the region. Jake hops on for a bit in the beginning to recap some business & sports news. There’s still no progress in the MLB – it looks as though we’ll have a season, but who knows what kind of season we’ll have? Other sports are progressing nicely, as soccer is in full swing in Europe and golf has returned in the USA. We also talk about Ideanomics ($IDEX); is the hype they’re experiencing going to be grounds to buy? --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 6/22/2020


We are back in full force for Episode Ten as our good friend Marques Ogden joins the show! Marques played offensive line for the Jacksonville Jaguars, Tennessee Titans, and more NFL teams, before venturing into construction. He lost nearly every penny he had after business deals gone awry, and had to essentially re-start his life and career. Marques has now made a career from public speaking, consulting, and career counseling. Our paths crossed when we recruited him to speak at Bryant University back in 2016, and his career has taken off immensely since then. Marques has worked with 15 Fortune 500 companies, professional sports teams, colleges across the country, and many more private clients. In this week’s episode, we have a great discussion on his rise to fame, business advice that every young professional should take, and when we can expect to see fans in NFL seats. In Beers, Will goes to his “ol’ reliable” Greenport Harbor, and Jake finally picks an in-season beer…better yet, a homebrew selection. In Business, we recap the market’s performance last week and evaluate the coming days as a potential buy period. We also name our stock of the week – hint, they may be doing the COVID-19 screenings at airports. In Balls, we discuss the MLB returning (or not returning…), the Yankees’ slouch of a “cheating scandal” (lol), and name our “Way Too Early” College Football Top 25. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 6/15/2020


Join us for a discussion on the recent events in America. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 6/8/2020


If you’ve seen Admani Explains on TikTok, you love his direct and “no-BS” re-enactments of business news. We get his thoughts on what’s going on the business world now, why TikTok is just more than attractive girls dancing and teenagers doing dumb stuff, and his encounters of football players on the Texas campus. In Beers, Jake picks yet another out-of-season fan from Tree House, and Will picks a beer from a lesser-known Connecticut brewery that you should keep your eyes on. Our Balls topics are aplenty - we discuss hundreds of MLB minor leaguers getting released from their teams, and how bad of a look this is for the MLB. With the news that 64 straight hours of Derek Jeter coverage aired on MLB Network, we dive into what exactly makes everyone hate one of the best shortstops of all-time. We also discuss the proposed return of the NBA playoffs, a new deal between EA Sports and the NFL, and maybe we’ll even sprinkle in some prophesy of Cam Newton joining the Steelers... --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 6/1/2020


If you don’t follow @BoredBrackets on Instagram, you’re missing out! We catch up with fellow Bryant alum Mark Dyer about his new venture into determining the best (and worst) of pretty much every topic known to man. Connected by the bonds of our accounts being “born-in-quarantine,” we also talk about virality on social media, and what good content is really all about. In Beers, Jake is taking it easy with a 3.8% IPA (what?!) and Will chooses another Rhode Island classic. Business features some talk on the new iPhone SE, developments in Hong Kong’s conflict with their parent Chinese lawmakers, and how both of these can & will affect the American economy. We also talk about Facebook, and how quite a bit of good news has allowed their stock to grow significantly over the past week. In Balls, we break down some of the news on sports leagues coming up with a bit more of a solid plan to return to competition in 2020. But, can you call yourself a champion with a shortened/incomplete season? We also discuss some landing spots for the remaining free agent NFL quarterbacks - HINT: a LOT has to do with Cam Newton. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 5/26/2020


This week, we’ll let our two awesome guests do the talking! Two loyal Bryant alumni get the stage for this episode, as John Duke Logan and Target Tori are Episode 6’s guests. John Duke Logan has really done it all - performed magic on America’s Got Talent, gave a TED talk, done card tricks for Tom Brady & Gronk, and toured the nation with Todd Gurley. We talk with JDL about his rise to fame, but most importantly, we talk about his mission and why he works on the things he does. We also discuss his journey to trademarking his life motto, “Impossible Is Just A Word.” In Positivity Corner, we have the segment’s first guest in podcast history. You’ve probably seen her on Twitter @RealTargetTori, but if not, you’re going to want to hear her story. Tori hops into her experience with a frustrated customer, and her subsequent rise to social media virality. We discuss why she chose to be positive, and how it’s affecting many across the nation. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 5/18/2020


Finally giving you what you bargained for - a full hour of raw, unedited, uninterrupted audio of Jake & Will. Lots on the agenda as we had plenty to discuss in a very active week in the market and in the sports world. In Beers, Will selects a beer that many call the best IPA in New England, while Jake is switching up the vibe for #SeltzerSunday. In Business, we dive into some cases of the world’s most disruptive and high-growth services, and the hard times they’re going through. We’re also talking JCrew’s bankruptcy and how it helps/hurts brick and mortar stores, a big move in the crypto world, and the potential summer return of cruise lines. You didn’t think we’d forget about Elon Musk, did you?! We have an exclusive interview with his son, X Æ A-12 Musk in today’s episode (wouldn’t that be hilarious?). But real talk, we’re diving in to what’s making Elon lose his mind over the naming of his son and his potential threat to move Tesla’s HQ1 from California to greener pastures...i.e. anyone that gives him a tax break. We talk some stocks to keep your eyes on, and throw it back to the medical industry for the Stock of the Week. Lots to digest in Sports as well, as the KBO is being streamed on ESPN and UFC 249 took place last night - both without fans. Life isn’t so great for Ravens safety Earl Thomas and former Bears QB Jay Cutler, as they’re both in hot water with their wives. We’ve also got 2 hot college basketball stories...Zion allegedly took money from Adidas and Nike (wow, shocking!) and a 4-star recruit stabs Seton Hall in the back, decides to get his high school degree a year early, and head to UConn on a fast-track to the NBA. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 5/11/2020


Missing baseball? Us too. We brought in Barstool Sports’ own Eric Hubbs, the host of The Short Porch podcast, about all things Yankees. We dive in and discuss Yankee greats (shoutout Hideki Matsui), our reactions to MLB insider Jeff Passan’s report that baseball will be back at some point this year, and feed into Hubbs’ woes of the Green Bay Packers selecting another quarterback instead of a weapon for Aaron Rodgers. This Beers segment might’ve been our best yet. Courtesy of his wifey’s dad, Tondo copped a can that beer experts call one of the top 10 in New England, and Zimmer makes a plea to the listeners to help select a name for House Brewing Company’s new IPA (seriously guys, we need your help - please help us - we’re stuck…). In Business, we discuss yet another weird week for the market. Our portfolios did pretty well overall, but can you guess whose portfolio shot to a 108% increase this week? Embarking on a quick rapid-fire round of Balls, we discuss the Red Sox punishments (which were WAY too light), the surprise new entertainment icon that’s making a bid to own the New York Mets, and our thoughts MLB The Show Players’ League (congrats to #Snellzilla). --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 5/4/2020


We’re talking conspiracy theories, the potential existence of aliens, unsolved airplane hijackings, and Tupac! Our in-house conspiracy theorist, “Kuantom,” makes his debut on the podcast; if you follow @Unexplained on Twitter or @The.SketchFator on Instagram, you’ve seen Kuantom’s work. Jake & Will take it local in the Beers segment once more - some great selections from CT and NY. Business brings some interesting insights into the oil price tanking during the end of last week, and Stock of the Week features a few investments you may want to keep your eyes on during this unprecedented economic time. Balls brings a recap of the ONE sports event of the week...the NFL Draft. The New York Football Giants get their offensive tackle, and the Pats get their...2 TE’s? Three-Percenter Kicker? Who knows. We grade both teams and look for what they both might be adding over the next few weeks. We finish discussing the “Tompa Bay Gronkaneers” - a trade that changed quite literally changed the NFL, as Rob Gronkowski comes out of retirement to be traded to play with his main man, Tom Brady. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 4/27/2020


It’s true folks...we’ve survived 2 episodes...and you won’t want to miss our guest! He’s a Super Bowl champ, a great friend, and one of the most recognizable faces in the New England sports scene. Patriots photographer Dave Silverman joins us to talk his career, stories about the players & government leaders he’s photographed, and the economic situation of sports freelancers across the nation. We start off with the Beers segment, in which we cover some local breweries in the Long Island and Rhode Island areas, and discuss the economic impacts of the coronavirus pandemic to the local craft scene. In Business, we might just be confused...why is the market not responding at all to the wild economic situation? We talk about some tourism & lifestyle stocks that you should keep your eyes on, and of course we make our pick for stock of the week. In the Balls segment, we hop right into just about the only current event in sports...the NFL draft. Tondo divulges some theories on how to fix the Giants and build a solid group around Danny Dimes, while Zimmer sheds some light on the many gaps to fill in a once-stacked Patriots roster. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 4/21/2020


Our first episode! Get to know the guys. We talk about how our podcast works, our sports allegiances, and what our plans are for the future. We also debut the “What If?” and “Stock of the Week” segments, and run through the entire bracket to compare results on who would’ve been crowned this year’s NCAA champion. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 4/7/2020