Episode 34 (Dec. 8, 2020): Kris Savage, Founder of Basic Girl Brew Review, and newest House Enterprise Blogger

BEERS: We are beyond excited for you to get to know our newest beer reviewer, Kris Savage! Kris tells us the story of how she created Basic Girl Brew Review on Instagram with her best friend.  Kris and the guys try a few of our favorite local selections (hint hint, Tree House may be included) live on the show, and debate whether or not the Midwest craft scene can stack up against the formidable New England titans of industry.

Big shoutout to our friends at Long Live Beerworks, too - they launched their new renditions of Frozie Cup and Jenny Graham, both available at their Providence location.

BUSINESS: It’s day trading heaven!...or is it?  AirBnB is expected to list itself on the New York Stock Exchange this Thursday, and all eyes are on the app that changed tourism forever.  After changing its expected sell price multiple times, it appears CEO Brian Chesky has come to an agreement with the SEC and investment banks that they’ll hit the exchange at $60 - up from $44, $50, and $56.  What’s in store for AirBnb? Should you buy it as soon as it hits the market, or wait for it to settle?

BALLS: Contenders and Pretenders, Week 13 edition!  Who disappointed in Week 13, and who solidified themselves as contenders? After another weird week of football and plenty of upsets (shoutout Giants, Pats, and Washington), our teams in the top tier may surprise you.  We also discuss the blockbuster Westbrook/Wall trade, and what it means for the futures of the two highly-touted (and overpaid) point guards.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/8/2020




Recent Episodes
Our first show of 2021 kicks off with a bang!  Bryan Hoch, longtime New York Yankees beat writer on MLB.com, joins the guys for our first episode since December 22 (interview starts 16:46). Bryan has a decorated career in sports journalism, particularly in baseball - from his humble beginnings starting a Mets blog in high school, to covering the most storied franchise in sports, Bryan shares memories & highlights from an extremely rewarding career. We discuss his favorite Yankees to cover, the pure shock of watching his team win the 2009 World Series, and the eerily methodical pregame routine of Hall of Fame shortstop Derek Jeter.  Bryan recalls his base hit off former pitcher Jeff Nelson, his favorite Topps baseball cards he’s pulled over the years, his favorite Ron Burgundy quotes, and gives his bourbon of choice. BEERS: Massachusetts, we’re back!  Will reviews Cloud Candy by Mighty Squirrel - he’s all-in on the Boston-area favorite.  Jake tries Secret Batch #292 (not so secret anymore) from True North Brewing Company, another staple of the Massachusetts craft beer scene. BUSINESS:  Twitter is still facing fallout from banning President Trump from the platform after the storming of Capitol Hill last week. Shares have declined more than 12% since banning the President; Wall Street analysts are estimating massive financial risk for Twitter due to Trump supporters no longer engaging with the platform, and sparking conversations on social media censorship. That, analysts say, will become less appealing for advertisers to set up shop on Twitter. Should we expect more of this from other Big Tech firms, and what are the possible implications if you’re a shareholder? BALLS: We break down our biggest surprises from the NFL Wild Card Weekend, and give some rapid-fire predictions for the 4 games in the upcoming Divisional Round. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/beersbusinessandballs/support

Publish Date: 1/13/2021


If the names Dooley, Fringe Guy, Jimmy Heaters, or the Rally King mean anything to you, then buckle up. Although it started as a meme page on Instagram, Friday Beers has become more of a rallying cry for the 9-5 corporate worker - wherever you are in the world, and whatever time it is, the feeling of a Friday Beer just "hits different."  In Episode 36, Jake & Will sit down with Jack and Max Barrett (starts 3:44), the masters behind one of social media's fastest-growing brands.  We discuss their rise to Instagram & Twitter royalty (10:15), their inspiration behind "The Squad” (12:48), and their endeavor into the craft beer scene (28:13).  We trigger some nostalgic - but painful - memories of their breakup with Dua Lipa (17:23), and their subsequent partnership with their new sole followed account...Hailee Steinfeld. NOTE: Please help Friday Beers give back to NYC restaurant workers by visiting ROAR NY at https://www.roarnewyork.org/. This is a phenomenal opportunity to give to someone in need this holiday season. If you can contribute, please do - any amount makes a difference! Rapid fire this week from our portion of the show: BEERS (51:50): We review selections from Long Live Beerworks (our favorite), and Loophole Brewing Company, a new selection you can more than likely find in a New England liquor store. Will has also made NO progress in his quest to 1K check-ins on Untappd...can he drink 33 new beers in 9 days?! BUSINESS (54:58): The vaccine and stimulus package approvals promised solid gains, but they were quickly thwarted by news of a new COVID-19 strain...only to rise again near market close. How long will this continue? BALLS (58:34): "DA GOD DAM JETS" won a game! What does this mean for the future of the franchise? We also select our Week 15 teams for Contenders & Pretenders (60:37). POSITIVITY CORNER (66:28): Dr. Anthony Fauci says he went to vaccinate Santa Claus a few weeks ago - should be you concerned of the Big Man climbing down your chimney this Christmas? --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/22/2020


Can’t get enough Bryant Bulldogs breaking barriers and re-inventing entire industries?  Nick Cianfaglione joins us this week to discuss his founding of Artist Republik, a platform for independent artists & musicians.  We discuss his method of tearing down barriers for creators to monetize and market their products, and the ordeal that artists usually encounter with their “managers.” How can an independent musician monetize their work without coughing up a large chunk of their earnings to their managers’ pockets? What’s the best way to distribute songs on a low budget?  Nick gives us answers that every artist should be dying to know.  We also discuss how he built a duct-tape wallet empire in his middle school days, and his desperate plea to the creators of Fortnite.

BEERS: Tree. ******. House. We brought back a haul from the “Brewery on the Hill” in Charlton this past weekend, and it certainly did not disappoint. Jake reviews “Juice Project” with Citra and Mosaic hops; his rating will leave your jaw on the floor.  Meanwhile, in his quest to break 1,000 beers before 2021, Will reviews the Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Peppermint Porter by Lexington Brewing Company. He’s got 37 left to go in just 14 days – can he do it?

BUSINESS: As we mentioned last week, AirBnB was one of the most highly anticipated IPO’s of our time. We expected the stock to rise after officially being listed on the markets last week, but how did they pull off more than a 100% increase in less than 2 days?  The guys evaluate if AirBnB could be one of the stocks you wished you bought 5 years from now.

BALLS:  Both the Giants and the Patriots suffered tough losses against powerhouse opponents this week, and – although we don’t want to – we break down what went wrong for the increasingly-less-likely playoff hopefuls.  Contenders and Pretenders reprises itself for another week – who is legit, and who is just here for the ride? Our choices might surprise you.

POSITIVITY CORNER: If you are in the giving spirit, please consider writing a letter to the family of Keyontae Johnson, who remains in critical condition after collapsing on the court on Saturday.  Send a message of hope & goodwill to PO BOX 14485, Gainsville FL 32604.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/15/2020


He’s beer royalty!  If you are a craft beer drinker like us, you know how important the Untappd app is. Join the guys and The Boston Beer Guy as we sit down with the Untappd founder, Greg Avola, who takes us through his journey of creating the most popular beer app in America.  We discuss his passion for computer science & coding, his corporate experience at KPMG & Morgan Stanley, and his leap of faith into the world of entrepreneurship.  Greg also highlights some of the key new initiatives & features we should be looking to see from Untappd, and makes a plug for some of the best beers in New England.

Our conversation with Greg should get your fill of Beers AND Business this week (we also talk a bit of sports too!), but we close with a recap of Tyson-Jones Jr. on Triller this past weekend, and some football surprises.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/1/2020


He’s beer royalty!  If you are a craft beer drinker like us, you know how important the Untappd app is. Join the guys and The Boston Beer Guy as we sit down with the Untappd founder, Greg Avola, who takes us through his journey of creating the most popular beer app in America.  We discuss his passion for computer science & coding, his corporate experience at KPMG & Morgan Stanley, and his leap of faith into the world of entrepreneurship.  Greg also highlights some of the key new initiatives & features we should be looking to see from Untappd, and makes a plug for some of the best beers in New England. Our conversation with Greg should get your fill of Beers AND Business this week (we also talk a bit of sports too!), but we close with a recap of Tyson-Jones Jr. on Triller this past weekend, and some football surprises. --- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 12/1/2020


It’s officially college basketball season - so who better than Kevin McNamara to talk shop with us this week! All things considered, there’s nothing Kevin hasn’t covered in the college basketball world. A 30-year veteran of the Providence Journal before his departure this summer, Kevin has reported the beat for both the Providence Friars and the Rhode Island Rams, broke some of the nation’s biggest college basketball headlines, and sat on press row at the most renowned sports venues in America. Kevin chats with us about his rise to gaining national impressions, some characters he met along the way, and some storylines to look out for in this year’s campaign for the Friars & the BIG EAST.

BEERS: Is there really any bad time for a stout or a sour? This week, you get both! Will cracks open a golden stout courtesy of our friends at North Fork Brewing, while Jake recaps Electric Plankton by FAB, one of the newer brands in Massachusetts.

BUSINESS: Congratulations are in order if you were an owner of anything “new tech” last week! But the real winner goes to Disney, who is seeing all-time highs once again. With more than $2.4 billion in lost revenue from park visitors, how is Disney growing so much? We break down the wild success of its streaming platform and how it’s contributing to the rising Disney stock price.

BALLS: The Ravens SUCK! We said it! After losing in overtime to the Tennessee Titans, is Baltimore on a fast track to hell with a Turkey Day matchup against the Steelers? We also officially declare the New England Patriots as a “Bad Team” (can we trademark that?) and prepare their eulogy.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 11/24/2020


Another live on-site interview for you this week! Nichole Pelletier, founder and owner of Crooked Current Brewery joins the show from her venue in Pawtucket, Rhode Island.  In one of the more detailed and insightful conversations we've had on the show to date, Nichole lays out her long journey from a criminal justice student to the owner & operator of one of Lil' Rhody's most up-and-coming beer brands.  We discuss her strategy of "keeping the circle close" by not distributing Crooked Current beer, the potential challenges ahead, and the significance of being one of the only female head brewers in the state. We also taste & rate three beers, straight from the source - Pumpkin Maple Ale, Mexican Hot Chocolate, and Mango SMASH IPA. You should stop what you're doing and rate all 3.

BUSINESS: In a surprise move on Monday, Tesla announced it will list itself on the S&P 500 beginning on December 21. What does this mean for the stock, and when should you buy it?

BALLS: Kim Ng, a seasoned baseball executive, becomes the first female general manager in her new role with the Miami Marlins - a long overdue move for the sports world.  In the basketball scene, we break down the move of Chris Paul to the Phoenix Suns, and discuss drawbacks of a potential James Harden trade to the Brooklyn Nets.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app

Publish Date: 11/17/2020


The Show

Presented by House Enterprise, hosted by Jake Zimmer and Will Tondo. The name explains itself. We’ll be discussing craft beer, the latest business news, and what's going on in the world of sports. Join us for weekly conversations and interviews with industry leaders and guests around the nation.

Subscribe

   

Follow Us