Episode 17: 2018 South Jersey Beer Half Year in Review!

On this episode, we look back at the first half of 2018 while drinking some of the beer son the Zymurgy Magazine Best Beers in America list including Bell's Two-Hearted Ale, Founders KBS, Founders CBS, and Founders Breakfast Stout.  Vic is salty about the list and he tells us why he hates top ten lists and how it is all just a matter of opinion.  

We also talk about the new breweries that have opened in South Jersey and how many that South Jersey can support.  John tells us why there are too many festivals, we revisit the formation of a new Brewer's guild and the pending ABC legislation rumors that are running rampant in the industry.

John Howard-Fusco of Eating in South Jersey, Rafael Pena-Medina, and Richard Rabic our producer and Co-host of the great "Fear of A Craft Beer Planet" Podcast also sit in with John, Rob, and Vic.

For all the latest news and information about South Jersey's Breweries, Bars, Restaurants, Bottle Shops, and Events visit us on the web at www.sjbeerscene.com

 

 



Publish Date: 7/6/2018




Recent Episodes

John left the country so Vic, Rob, Richard, and Kristen got together to record Episode 21!  Topics include Summer Festivals, Music, and Vic's beer filled trip to Ireland.  

On the heels of of two great South Jersey Beer Festivals that we participated in, Summer Swelter and Manahopkin, the gang goes through some numbers and how cool these two well organized and attended festivals went.

Make sure to catch all the latest news, including a detailed piece about Vic's trip to the Emerald Isle on SJBeerscene.com.

On September 29th we will be participating in the Glassboro Beer Festival!  Use discount code SJBeerscene18 to receive $5 off of your ticket!

 



Publish Date: 9/3/2018


Matt and Maureen from Summer Swelter Beer Festival joined John, Rob, and co-host Kristen Wilson to talk about how you get a beer festival off of the ground. Summer Swelter has already procured a great lineup of 45+ breweries with many hailing from South Jersey for the inaugural festival that is happening in Pitman, NJ on 8/18/18!  

Coupled with great food, music, and local vendors, this festival has the foundation to become one of South Jersey's best! In addition to all of this, there is a special VIP session from 12-1 PM featuring a ton of beers you will only be able to get here!  

The Festival runs from 1-5 PM for non-vip's and tickets are available at 

Summer Swelter Craft Beer Festival 

If you could, please leave us a rating and review on iTunes so that we can spread the word about South Jersey Beer!

For all the latest in South Jersey Beer, visit us at www.sjbeerscene.com

 

 

 



Publish Date: 8/5/2018


Join John, Rob, Vic, And Richard for Episode 19, which was taped live at Ship Bottom Brewery with Owner Rob Zarko and Brewer Jake Stablein.  The brewery is getting ready to celebrate its 2nd Anniversary so we stopped by to learn about Ship Bottom's Pennsylvania roots, the challenges of a 2nd-floor brewery, can art, collaborations, and their great beer!  

This episode is brought to you by the Manahopkin Beer and Music Festival which is being held on 8/11/18 at Manahawkin Lake Park.  Tickets are $30 for the beer garden, but the event itself is free! Visit Manahopkin Beer and Music Festival to get all of the details!

If you like this podcast, please consider leaving us a rating and a review on iTunes!

For all the latest South Jersey beer news, visit us on the web at South Jersey Beer Scene!

 



Publish Date: 7/30/2018


Rob Mullin from Yuengling is the guest on this week's episode.  Yuengling just released it's first new beer in 17 years, Yuengling Golden Pilsner, and Rob brought some for us to sample along with a few of their great legacy beers, Black & Tan and Lord Chesterfield Ale. Yuengling's story is one of the best in all of the beer industry and is one of the most sought-after brands by both Craft Beer aficionados and everyday beer drinkers.  

 

 



Publish Date: 7/19/2018


John Howard-Fusco of the great blog "Eating In South Jersey", and author of "A Culinary History of Cape May:  Salt Oysters, Beach Plums, & Cabernet Franc" (available on Amazon) joined us for this week's podcast.  John has seen the rise of the Craft Beer movement in New Jersey and Philadelphia and how restaurants in the region have embraced (or not) it.  We talk great beer bars in South Jersey, what does a foodie order when he goes out, and how to tell a chef that you don't like something.  We also talk about his great book on the culinary history of Cape May, and how it has become a food and beer destination.

You can also listen to John on the Small Bites Radio Show on Wildfire Radio!

Check out John's Eating in South Jersey Blog!

Visit us on the web at www.sjbeerscene.com

If you like the show, please leave a review or rating on iTunes!

 



Publish Date: 6/28/2018


Jim and Brooke Sacco of Vinyl Brewing Company of Hammonton, NJ are the guests on Episode 15 of the Podcast taped live at the Towey Studios in Maple Shade.  Rob and John also welcome a special guest Co-Host, Richard Rabic of Fear of A Craft Beer Planet who also is our Producer.  Jim and Brooke brought some fantastic crowlers of beer from the brewery and gathered around the bar to talk about Vinyl's roots, Jim's passion for music, and how Hammonton has become one of New Jersey's top destinations for Alcohol Tourism.  Join Vinyl as they celebrate Sour Week at the brewery from July 12th-15th with 6 different sours over the 4 days!  

Please leave a rating or a review (or both) on iTunes!

Visit us on the web at www.sjbeerscene.com

Visit Vinyl Brewing at www.vinylbrewingnj.com



Publish Date: 6/21/2018


In Part 2 of Brewing With The Presidents, Vince, Vic, and Eric give Rob and John a primer on how beer is made.  From picking the malts to kegging, the guys go through the brewing process and answer non-brewers Rob and John's asinine questions. 

We also sample some great brews from all three clubs and, in the end, Rob and John decide that they need to keep these guys around as they are way too old and way too important to learn to brew.  In all seriousness, this is a really fun and interesting episode that will open your eyes as to how our favorite liquid gets made.

Become a Patron of South Jersey Beer Scene by Joining our Patreon Community at www.patreon.com/southjerseybeerscene

Please rate and review our Podcast on iTunes!

Monmouth County Homebrewers www.mcha.club

Brew Jersey www.brewjerseyhbc.com

Ocean County Homebrewers www.ochomebrewclub.com

The Screwy Brewer www.thescrewybrewer.com

Fermented www.fermentednj.com

 



Publish Date: 6/14/2018


The Show

We are South Jersey locals bringing you all the Brewery, Bar, Bottle Shop, Festival, and Beer Event news in South Jersey!

Subscribe

                       

Follow Us

                   

Support Us